Snow outside, view from the window with tree branches

From inside you can see the snow blowing in the wind, but you can’t fully appreciate it until you step out into the blizzard.

With my camera tucked safely in a plastic bag, I took a walk in the afternoon. Or, I should say that I took a trudge through the snow. It came halfway up my shin with some steps, with others it was up past my knees. I wanted to walk to the corner, but the wind was blowing icy snowflakes in my face so I skipped it.

I have taken pictures of this gazebo in spring and in fall.

Gazebo in winter

An icicle hanging off of the gazebo light

Icicle hanging off the gazebo light

As evening came, the light started to look blue.

Snow on pine tree branches

Snow hanging on pine tree

Chilly electric meters

Electric meters covered with snow

This tree looks like a giant bird about to snatch me up. Probably wasn’t the smartest move to stand under it….

Pine tree covered in snow

A row of cars covered in snow

A row of cars

A row of trees in the snow

A

With the wind whipping the snow into drifts, it’s difficult to know how much we got. I think it’s safe to say about a foot.

Here’s the best part about going out in the snow: coming inside and warming up!

Two mugs of hot cocoa with marshmallows

