A Walk in the Blizzard

Electric meters covered with snow

Snow outside, view from the window with tree branches

From inside you can see the snow blowing in the wind, but you can’t fully appreciate it until you step out into the blizzard.

With my camera tucked safely in a plastic bag, I took a walk in the afternoon. Or, I should say that I took a trudge through the snow. It came halfway up my shin with some steps, with others it was up past my knees. I wanted to walk to the corner, but the wind was blowing icy snowflakes in my face so I skipped it.

I have taken pictures of this gazebo in spring and in fall.

Gazebo in winter

An icicle hanging off of the gazebo light

Icicle hanging off the gazebo light

As evening came, the light started to look blue.

Snow on pine tree branches

Snow hanging on pine tree

Chilly electric meters

Electric meters covered with snow

This tree looks like a giant bird about to snatch me up. Probably wasn’t the smartest move to stand under it….

Pine tree covered in snow

A row of cars covered in snow

A row of cars

A row of trees in the snow

A

With the wind whipping the snow into drifts, it’s difficult to know how much we got. I think it’s safe to say about a foot.

Here’s the best part about going out in the snow: coming inside and warming up!

Two mugs of hot cocoa with marshmallows

20 thoughts on “A Walk in the Blizzard”

  1. I have never lived in snow country. This morning, your blog takes me into another reality: blizzards!! Your words and photos gave me a sense of what it must be like. I enjoyed your post.

    1. Thanks! Glad you enjoyed and could get a sense of what a blizzard is like. Unfortunately, with the plastic bag, the wind shaking me, and the light fading, the photos aren’t too sharp, but they do have some of the mood of being in a snowstorm. We don’t get many blizzards here, actually. Our regular storms will drop a few inches, maybe up to 6, and usually the snow falls gently and is pleasant to watch. This blizzard was so windy and kept me on edge. I’m thankful that we didn’t lose power. The snow stopped last night and it’s bright and sunny today. Now is when everyone needs to shovel out their cars, sidewalks, etc. And I guess tomorrow it’s back to work and school.

  2. My husband’s grandmother was from Alberta, and she told us of having to have a rope between the house and the barn, otherwise a person would get lost in the blizzard. It was beyond my imagining.

    1. Wow! That’s intense! What a scary feeling that must have been, to feel lost between your house and barn. When everything is covered in snow and it’s blowing in your face, it must be easy to get lost.

  3. Cynthia I have been in the house for 2 days not wanting to go out in the 18 inches of snow that mother nature dropped off. I think I need counseling! Not over the depressing feeling of last winter’s storm trails. Your photos are beautiful but I want to fast forward this part. I know that I can’t so maybe I need to look at it differently with a appreciative eye. My Lord, wish me luck! LOL!

    1. Hi Chanel, I totally understand your point of view! I think if the kids didn’t want to go out and play, I probably would have stayed inside too! But since I was already bundled up and cold and wet, I said why not walk around and see what I can see. Thanks for your comment, I’m happy that you liked my photos. I agree, last winter was tough! I’m hoping maybe this year we just got all our snow in one big storm, and that spring is right around the corner. We got to experience snow this weekend, OK now bring on the warmer weather and the flowers! Good luck, and enjoy the rest of your Sunday!

I'd love to hear your thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.