Different color carrots in a circle

I have been using these colorful carrots for several months now, but every time I get a big batch together like this I have to pause and just appreciate their beauty. It gets me every time.

Colorful carrots chopped up in a pot for soup
Chopped up circles

This circle of colorful carrots turned into a soup for tonight’s dinner.

 Creamy Carrot soup with sour cream swirl
Creamy carrot circle

For flavors, I added grated ginger, lemon zest, parsley, and thyme to the base of carrots, onions, garlic, and turkey stock. Finished the bowls with a little sour cream.

Pumpernickel onion loaf,

And I also spent a few hours making this bread. I’ve had this pumpernickel flour for a while but never attempted anything with it. What better place to start than the recipe on the back of the bag for Pumpernickle-Onion Loaf (from King Arthur Flour).

Despite having to substitute a couple ingredients and not having any caraway seeds to sprinkle on top, I think it turned out well. I think next time I’d like a recipe that produces a darker bread, but this was a nice intro to the flour. It called for 1 cup pumpernickel and 2 1/4 cups AP and 1/4 potato flour. I’d like to see some white whole wheat  added next time to make a heartier bread.

Notes on the recipe:
The one online varies slightly from what was on my bag of flour. The bag called for 2 1/4 c AP and 1/4 c potato, but I used 2.5 c AP. I also didn’t have non-diastatic malt powder, but the bag said to use 2TB brown sugar instead. Did not have the optional deli rye flavoring so I ignored that, and in place of the caramel powder coloring I used molasses. I also didn’t have dried minced onion lol but I used powdered. I pretty much only had the two flours, the yeast and the water haha. But it still turned out yummy. I’m sure the specialty powders that the recipe calls for gives it a darker color, but I prefer a more natural approach.

Before I got off track with the recipe stuff, this was originally posted for the photo challenge called Circle

