waterwheel on river next to red building
This waterwheel seemed to be for show. Or perhaps it will turn if the river rises?

I saw two waterwheels in my recent travels, which is two more than I’ve probably seen in the last two years. The first one seemed to be for show, but it’s possible that it could turn if the river rises.

I also loved the brown building next door and the haphazard way it seemed to be extended and extended out over the river. Why not build up? If they needed more space just build another story, no?

The second waterwheel did turn because of the stream that was diverted over it. The wheel turned once, twice, then seemed to get stuck for a few seconds every third turn. The green slimy growth on the wheel is both icky and kind of cool.

water turning a wooden waterwheel
This wooden waterwheel was actually turned by the running water.

I also came across this cute bench that was painted like a watermelon. Kind of odd to think of eating watermelon while there is snow on the ground, but still a fun, unexpected pop of color.

bench painted like a watermelon

***

I’m participating in the A to Z Challenge for the month of April. The idea is to post every day, except Sundays, and end up with one post for each letter of the alphabet. It’s a good challenge to help me to blog every day.

