Oscar the grouch toy

Scram!

I like how everyone on Sesame Street used to just kind of put up with Oscar’s grouchy personality and quirks. He was constantly yelling and slamming his garbage-can lid. It’s a nice message that people will accept you no matter your personality, but I wonder if I also took away the message that I could act like a jerk and get away with it.

Thinking of some of the shows my kids watch today, I wonder how he would be dealt with. Would they have more lectures and interventions to try to make him more socially acceptable? I seem to remember that occasionally happening to Oscar when I was a child watching Sesame Street, but I also remember him getting away with a lot of what would have been described as “unacceptable behavior” if I had dared to follow in his footsteps. I guess it’s a fine line between accepting someone’s character and trying to change a person’s behavior.

***

I’m participating in the A to Z Challenge for the month of April. The idea is to post every day, except Sundays, and end up with one post for each letter of the alphabet. It’s a good challenge to help me to blog every day.

A to Z Challenge badge

