Rough

Here’s my entry for Cee’s Fun Photo Challenge: Things That Are Rough. Some textured bark on a pine tree.

Rough pile of old icy snow

What was once an inviting, fluffy mountain of snow is now a dirty pile of chopped ice. It melts a little each day but freezes again at night.Β Try to play on this and you’ll slip, the rough chunks of ice scratching your hand as you brace your fall.

Cactus and yellow flowers in New Jersey

I featured this photo of the catci in a recent post about a trip to a rose garden last summer. Thanks to my friend Maria F., I now know their name: Opuntia humifusa. Thanks, Maria!

Bee and pollen on thistle

Here’s a very happy bee on a pointy thistle.

Note scratched into the paint on an old door

This is rough on an emotional level. When I read the note that was scratched into the painted-over glass windows on a padlocked door to an abandoned house, I couldn’t help but wonder about the circumstances. More photos and speculation in this post from several months ago.

