Alphabet necklaces hanging, vintage filter

Necklaces hanging on a doorknob.

There was a time, not too long ago, where every doorknob in my home was adorned with necklaces. Mostly necklaces, but sometimes toys, too. Anything that could be draped over a doorknob would eventually find itself there. My kids’ idea of decorating.

This used to irritate me. A lot. But then it stopped happening, I suppose, because none of the doors rattle, clink, or get stuck when I try to close them anymore. At some point, the kids moved on to something else.

Kids are in a constant state of moving on. “This, too, shall pass,” is good advice, and usually something we tell ourselves in times of stress or annoyance.

But it also applies to the good times, and I try to remember that every day. As cute or as irritating their behavior may be, there will come a day when they don’t do it anymore. That’s both a relief and heartbreaking to think about, but, from what I’ve learned as a parent, that’s life.

There are no more necklaces on the doorknobs, but there are always exciting and terrible new things to come.

In response to the photo challenge: Alphabet.

