Cold, dry air blew in last night and shocked my neighborhood this morning. It finally got to us–the winter that we had been expecting for months but was no where in sight.

I knew I would do this. I don’t want to, but I can’t help it. I knew that as soon as the cold weather came I’d be wishing it was warm again. Daydreaming about spring and summer and green things.

Oak tree green leaves, green grass
Green, and a few leaves tickled with yellow

I really do like winter at times, but I guess not at the moment. The problem now is the sudden change in weather. We had record-breaking warm temperatures at Christmas. I wore a sundress because I was too lazy to dig out my shorts that are packed away in the closet. And now suddenly we’ve got this icy wind swirling outside.

What happened to the smooth transition between seasons?

I can’t help feeling that autumn really dropped the ball. Of course it was fun to keep pretending it was going to be warm forever, but you were supposed to gradually get cooler so that one day we would be so close to winter that we wouldn’t even notice that you had left. Maybe next year you could things a bit more like usual. And could you have a talk with winter? It’s coming on a little strong, maybe it can tone things down a little. Thanks.

