My cherished phone and an okra plant in the background.
My cherished phone and an okra plant from my balcony garden in the background.

Let me start off by saying that I don’t consider people as objects to be cherished, which is why I’m not writing about my family. I love and cherish my family above all.

As for objects, well, it’s kind of funny that someone who is such a packrat can’t seem to justify any of the junk that she holds on to as her most cherished object. Maybe that will aid me in getting rid of some unnecessary stuff. So, that leads us to…

My cherished object is my smartphone. I know the phone itself is highly breakable, stealable, and replaceable, but what my phone represents to me is freedom and power. Specifically, the freedom to connect/create and the power of knowledge.

With my phone I have the freedom to create, write, take pictures, stay in touch with people,Β connect with new people,Β use maps and directions to go somewhere, find recipes, and perhaps most importantly, learn new things.

We walk around with the ability to look up just about anything we could want or need to know. Information that in years past would be kept at a library, or studied for years by masters, or never released to the public, is at our command. The data is simply waiting there for our eyes to view. What do we do with this ability to access thousands of years of knowledge and human experience with a tap or swipe of a finger? What responsibility do we have to add to that body of knowledge?

For me it’s a little overwhelming, and I feel a slight pressure not to waste the opportunity to learn as much as I can. I feel as though I should at least try to make a contribution. On the other hand, I’ve never had to use so little effort to look at pictures of cute cats, so I may just stick with that for now.

I love the potential that my phone gives me–the potential to create something I like, to chat with a friend, to connect with a stranger, to learn something interesting today, to discover a delicious new recipe, to find an alternate route, to finally figure out what movie I knew that guy from but just couldn’t remember, to look up a word in a foreign language, to understand why a particular news story is important, to get a joke or a phrase that didn’t make sense until I looked it up, to name a few examples.

Not every day is filled with mind-blowing moments of education and beauty. Not every day can be amaaaaazing, after all. But there’s always the possibility, and the hope that all these things I see and learn are not instantly forgotten, but stick with me in some way. The good and the bad.Β And there’s also the hope that everything that I absorb will ultimately enhance my writing and long-term projects.

That’s why my phone is my cherished object.

