Kale chipsI love kale chips, and now is the time to make them with fresh leaves from the farmers market. They are easy to make, but pretty time consuming. This is because I’m kind of picky about removing the parts of the stems that might be too tough. It probably doesn’t need to take as long as it takes me, but I don’t like when there’s a really tough or pointy piece of stem or ribs in the chips.

Dramatic oven lighting highlights the leaves' transformation into delicious chips
Dramatic oven lighting highlights the leaves’ transformation into delicious chips

I also prefer the low and slow method of cooking them, using a 250-degree oven for up to 25 minutes. I’ve tried recipes that call for a hotter oven and shorter cooking time, but I don’t think the chips turn out as crisp. Here’s how I make them. I hope you give it a try!

Kale Chips Recipe

1 bunch of kale (I prefer curly but flat works great too)
Olive oil to drizzle
Salt

Preheat oven to 250°. Wash kale leaves and pat dry. Cut away stem and any thick ribs in the leaves. Cut leaves into bite size pieces.

Put prepared leaves in bowl and drizzle with olive oil. Using your hands, rub the leaves until coated evenly with oil, adding more if necessary.

Spread evenly on cookie sheet lined with parchment. Sprinkle with salt. Bake for 20-25 mins or to desired crispness, checking every 10 mins or so. Cool and enjoy!

Store any ungobbled-up chips in an airtight container or they will become stale and soft somewhat quickly.

