rum cake bundt pan
Rum cake for Mama!

I made a rum cake for Mother’s Day. I have made this recipe before, the first time for Christmas two years ago. It immediately became a family favorite.

rum cake bundt pan
This cake has an almond meal crust. I usually do pecan. Both are delicious.

The recipe, Carribean Rum Cake from King Arthur Flour, is a bit intimidating to people like me, who don’t often bake cakes from scratch. Not intimidating because it’s hard, it’s actually very easy, but because of the amounts of the ingredients. A stick of butter. A cup of sugar. Add another of each of those for the soaking syrup. Four eggs in the cake batter. A cup of rum overall. You just have to go for it and remind yourself that this is for a special occasion.

Heritage Bundt pan by Nordicware
Heritage Bundt pan by Nordicware

This was the first recipe I tried when I bought this Bundt pan (also from King Arthur Flour). I had never owned a Bundt pan before, and I loved this style. The brand is Nordicware, made in Minnesota!, and they have many beautiful styles of Bundts.

rum cake
The cake rises quite high while baking, but will sink down below the edge on the pan as it cools.

Part of what makes this cake so deliciously moist is the soaking syrup. Butter, sugar, rum and water are heated and poured on top of the cake after it comes out of the oven. The cake sits overnight as the syrup soaks in. This is a heavy cake.

rum cake bundt pan
The cake really will soak up all this syrup.

For all you moms out there, this slice is for you! I hope you had a great Mother’s Day.

Yum!
Yum!
