Japanese cherry blossom pink
The first round of tree blossoms is fading, now it’s time for round two.

These cherry blossoms look like the perfect pillow for a fairy.

At least I think they are cherry blossoms. I got a tree field guide from the library to aid in my quest to identify the many flowering trees that I see, but that isn’t as straightforward as I thought.

At first you see the tree’s main characteristics, but then the book throws in variations and hybrids and it seems like anything could be anything. By the time I’m done, I’m so confused that I’m convinced that somehow a pine tree could actually be a version of a crabapple, given the right lighting and day of the week. I guess it’s a case of “the more you learn the more you realize you don’t know.”

Finding someone with tree-IDing experience will probably be my best bet, but I’m not totally giving up on the field guide.

