pink and white tree blossoms, pine tree, spring green
Soft spring colors after the rain

Quiet time is precious to me. I love my kids, but I also love that time in the evenings when they are asleep and quiet and I can think.

Before my kids came along, I used to put on music or TV to have some kind of background noise going most of the time. Now, silence is golden.

Although it is also possible that a secondary benefit of quiet during kid-sleeping hours is that I can hear whether someone is calling out for me, having a nightmare, or falling out of bed. Always on alert for that kind of thing, quiet comes in handy. That’s not to say that I don’t watch TV after hours, but if I’m not actively watching something I’ll turn it off.

I wonder what life will be like when the kids grow up and move out. Or even just grow older and not want to talk to me all day long anymore. I will probably complain that it’s too quiet. I’ll probably wish I had these noisy days back, and I’ll turn on the TV as background to keep me company.

***

I’m participating in the A to Z Challenge for the month of April. The idea is to post every day, except Sundays, and end up with one post for each letter of the alphabet. It’s a good challenge to help me to blog every day.

