green katydid on window, blue sky
Hey, buddy, thanks for your help!

This katydid hitched a ride on my window one day last fall. On that particular day I had had a doctor’s appointment. I left the doctor’s office feeling hopeful, but with no real answers.

Stopped at a red light, I noticed this katydid on my window, right at eye level. I figured it would fly away when the car started moving again, but it stayed put for more than 5 miles. It rode with me all the way home. When I stopped at a traffic light, it would clean its anntenae. Just completely at ease, smiling at me occasionally through the glass. It stayed on my car window even after I open and closed the door, and it saw me into my apartment building.

In my grasping to find meaning, I concluded that it was a sign that everything was going to be OK. That the katydid would be my good luck charm.

***

I’m participating in the A to Z Challenge for the month of April. The idea is to post every day, except Sundays, and end up with one post for each letter of the alphabet. It’s a good challenge to help me to blog every day.

