Panda Bear's Paintbox and The Color Kittens
Panda Bear’s Paintbox and The Color Kittens

These books are part of why I love color so much. Both books teach kids about mixing primary colors, and they also show the magic of painting and using your imagination. I read them many, many times.

Panda Bear's Paintbox by
Panda Bear’s Paintbox by Michaela Muntean

I was captivated by the idea that I didn’t need to start with all the colors to create something with all the colors. The paintbox doesn’t have any orange, green, purple or pink, I would worry at the beginning of the book. But every time I read it, I discovered along with Panda Bear how to make those colors.

The Color Kittens by
The Color Kittens by Margaret Wise Brown

I loved to read along with Brush and Hush as they mixed their paints and found new colors for all the things they loved in their world. This book is fun and the illustrations are so cute and imaginative.

I was always playing outside as a kid, enjoying nature and all the colors around me–picking whatever wildflowers happened to grow, watching the birds in our yard, or following the different bugs, ants and spiders that I found.

In school, I loved art class. That was probably my favorite part of school when I was little. I loved organizing and coloring with my crayons. One thing I still love is the segment of Mr. Rogers’ Neighborhood in which he visits the Crayola factory to show us how crayons are made. I love listening to him narrate the process of how those “yella crans” came to be. I loved all the colorful animations in Sesame Street, especially the trippy rainbow pinball “counting to 12” song.

Of course, C is also for Cookie, and that’s good enough for me!

***

I’m participating in the A to Z Challenge for the month of April. The idea is to post every day, except Sundays, and end up with one post for each letter of the alphabet. It’s a good challenge to help me to blog every day.

