Nine quarts of tomato sauce was my first canning project. I should have started out with something easier, but I didn’t realize that at the time. Using a recipe in the Ball Blue Book Guide to Preserving, I started by procuring 45 lbs of tomatoes from my farmer friend in early September. As I washed, quartered, and threw them in the pot, I realized that I would need several pots to do the job of cooking them down. I should have started out by throwing them in the pressure cooker/canner, because that’s where they all ended up. The next sad realization was that it was going to take forever to put it all through the food mill. It did take forever. I’m still doing it, in fact, with no end in sight.

I ended up with just about 9 quarts of tomato sauce. Since my pressure canner only holds 7, I just refrigerated the last two jars.

The sauce was delicious! I had read that you can use either citric acid or lemon juice to raise the acidity to safe levels, and I tried a couple jars of each. I didn’t notice much of a difference.

This project took most of the day and it was around midnight when I finally pulled the jars out of the canner and set them on the counter. I could hear the little popping sounds as I fell asleep. It was a lot of work but rewarding and completely worth it. I’m looking forward to doing it again at the end of the summer!

This post comes as part of the Five Photos, Five Stories challenge sent to me by Nonny Moose. I thought my theme for the next five days would be food, since I haven’t written much about that lately. A theme is not necessary, but for me this is motivation to get caught up on some posts I have been drafting in my mind.

The challenge rules are:

  1. Post a photo each day for five consecutive days.
  2. Attach a story to the photo. It can be real, fiction, a poem, a quote or short paragraph – that is entirely up to you.
  3. At the end of each day, nominate one other blogger to take part.

Today I nominate Guenny of Together and Apart No More. Guenny, are you up for another photo challenge? There’s no pressure, it’s just for fun 🙂

