Tiny, brand-new maple leaves
Tiny, brand-new maple leaves

I wanted to show these tiny leaves for the assignment called Scale. These are from one of three maple trees that sprouted from seed last year in my planter. I brought the pot inside for the winter and these leaves appeared just the other day. I’m so happy to see that at least this one survived. It’s nice to have a touch of spring’s renewal inside my home.

I taped a quarter to the wall for scale.

Three trees that spouted last summer
Three trees that spouted last summer

These saplings made their home in one of my Flower Rocket pots, which were a Mother’s Day gift last year. The Flower Rocket was a preloaded seed pod that promised thousands of blooms, but it didn’t quite work out. I only got a handful of stray flowers throughout the summer, and that’s from two rockets. I posted updates last year but eventually got so fed up with them that I didn’t want to think about them anymore, focusing instead on the little trees that found their way up to my balcony.

