Pumpkin pie
Pumpkin pie

I hope you got a piece of your favorite pie, or at least found time to think about circles for a little bit.

Chicken pot pie
Chicken pot pie

This year instead of baking a pie, we got slices from the diner. I wish I had used the effort to make my own. These pictures show pies I have made in the last few months, and I wish I had either of them today. For pumpkin pie I like this recipe from Simply Recipes. I like Alton Brown’s chicken pot pie recipe for the filling, but don’t bother with puff pastry and always make a regular pie.

circles, fractions, geometry for kids
Intro to Pi Day for the kids

Tried to talk to the kids a little about some math stuff using this cute idea I saw online. They participated, but I could tell they were thinking “When is Mom going to be done talking so we can eat that pie??” They’re good sports.

π

