Nutella Brioche Flower bread, snowflake shape
It’s a Christmas miracle!

This bread is soooo good that it’s simply impossible to take a good photo of it. Or, possibly, I had made this for Christmas brunch and was in a hurry and did an extra-poor job snapping a pic. So imagine this bread sprinkled with powdered sugar and given a proper photo shoot.

I mentioned in my post about challah that my new hero is Titli Nihaan of The Bread Kitchen site and videos. After learning about braiding techniques in October, I saw her recipe for a Nutella Brioche Flower and decided to try to make it at Christmas. She calls hers a “flower” but I went with “snowflake” to be a little more festive.

It’s delicious, and like she says, similar to a cinnamon roll in texture. The flavor and aroma of the nutella and the lemon zest are out of this world.

It looks impressive but isn’t very difficult. The hardest part for me was rolling out each of the four layers. I discovered two little glitches. One, that people with a lot of experience, such as Titli, can roll out a perfect circle if they desire, and I cannot. I ended up with wonky shapes, but figured I could trim them to make a circle at the end, so no big deal.

The only thing that seemed to be a problem was that my circles started to shrink a bit as they waited around for me to finish the flower/snowflake. I noticed when I was layering them that the bottom circle was getting smaller. I tried to roll out the remaining layers as quickly as possible, but I’m not that good with the rolling pin. So when it was time to make the 16 cuts and twist the pieces together, I struggled a little and tried to stretch the bottom layer to get it to do what I needed.

I don’t know why that happened. Perhaps I was taking too long to roll out the remaining layers. Or maybe the dough wasn’t quite ready to be worked with yet. I’ll do some research and hopefully won’t have that problem next time.

Because I will definitely make this again!

