It’s day 48 of this experiement. The Flower Rockets have been planted since Mother’s Day, and nothing much has happened.

Day 48, Flower Rocket pot. I'm excited about the maple trees.
Day 48, Flower Rocket growth (or lack thereof). I’m excited about the maple trees that blew into the pot.

As this was a gift, I’m not sure if the instructions were followed. I assume they were, since my parents are both good gardeners. (And they can read.) They helped my kids plant these things. Anyway, the box says, “Just plant … & water!” So those two steps are covered.

The box does warn that drying out will decrease growth. I may have slipped on that lately, but for the most part I have faithfully watered my Rockets since they were given to me. The box claimed I’d have “Continuous blooming all summer long!” I mean, when you see the “As Seen on TV” logo, you take things with a grain of salt, I guess.

Day 48 Flower Rocket pot. The mystery flowers are growing in the upper left.
Day 48 Flower Rocket pot. The mystery flowers are growing in the upper left.

Well at least I’ve got these maple trees growing, so that’s interesting. The mystery flower sprouts are doing well, too. That might be a marigold on the upper right.

It’s disappointing, but hey, not all experiments give you the results you want. I hope to get one flower out of these two pots by the time the cold weather comes in fall. If not I can always bring these inside and continue the disappointment 😛

